Level 1 Officials' Clinic

OSSA is hosing another Level 1 Officials’ Clinic on Saturday April 13, 2019 at the Milton Sports Centre. The clinic will run during the Cogeco Team Relay Challenge from 9am - 1pm.

This clinic is open to new or aspiring officials, as well as coaches or parents interested in gaining a better understanding of the sport of speed skating. The registration fee for this event is $22.60 (HST included). 

Please sign up HERE by April 5, 2019.


OSSA Annual Awards Celebration and Call for Award Nominations

The OSSA Annual Awards Celebration will take place at Horseshoe Resort in Barrie on Saturday April 27, 2019. All are welcome to the evening festivities, which will reflect on a successful 2018-2019 season and celebrate our OSSA athletes, coaches, officials and clubs!

A block of rooms has been reserved at Horseshoe Resort at a rate of $109.00 plus taxes and resort fee. To book a room please call Horseshoe Resort at 1-800-461-5627 and reference Ontario Speed Skating. 

Awards Dinner Tickets are $45.20 (HST included). Please Register for the Awards Dinner HERE.


Are you considering nominating a deserving individual or club for an OSSA award? We are still accepting nominations for this year’s awards!

Awards include: Club of the Year, Official of the Year, Coach of the Year, Rising Star, Skater of the Year (male, female, long track, short track) and Volunteer of the Year. 

The deadline to submit a nomination is March 31, 2019. Submit your nomination HERE!

We look forward to celebrating with you!!! 


Team Announcement for Canada East 2019

OSSA is excited to announce the Team Ontario Short Track skaters that will represent our province at the 2019 Canada East Short Track Championships in Campbellton, NB on March 30-31, 2019.

Girls 11: Yilin Liao, Haniya Jackson. Alternates: Tess Yeo, Gwen McLeod, Celia Giroux.

Girls 12: Izabella Zakatsiolo, Genevieve De Wys. Alternates: Zinnia Irwin, Jillian Reeves, Blanche Cardinal Tremblay, Camryn Rowsell.

Girls 13: Aaralyn McGill, Kiyomi McCaulsand. Alternates: Sasha Butterworth, Sherise Gratton, Vivien Hayter, Alison Milne.

Girls 14: Yasmin Jackson, Julia Wheeler. Alternates: Ainsley Little, Noa Baergen, Daria Vogt, Emily Wood.

Boys 12: Charlie Cotton, Andy Giroux. Alternates: David Brown, Docharty Rocque, Dennis Pisanko, Peter Gemmell.

Boys 13: Owen Currie, Peter Andrews. Alternates: Seamus Keiley, Helios He, Owen Duffy, Matthew Freitag.

Boys 14: Tyler Yue, Matthew Iannantuono. Alternates: Stephan Lee, Reno Thompson, Aaron Xie, Adam Abidi.

Boys 15: Daniel Bradley, John Millar. Alternates: Andrew Florio, Jaden Lo, Cyprien Petiteville.

Our coaches at Canada East will be Elizabeth Migneron, Cheryl Marinsky, Alisha Mullings and Ben Young.

Congratulations to our Team Ontario Canada East skaters!



Nagano's Short Track Summer Camp Registration will begin on Sunday March 3, 2019 at 2:00 PM

Check back here for the link to reigster. Limited spaces!


The camp will have spots reserved for NextGen skaters. Even if you think your skater will be in NextGen, we advise you to register for the camp early anyway. Once the NextGen skater list is completed in April, additional camp spots will be offered to waitlisted skaters if necessary.

Camp Fees $434.00. There will be no refunds after June 30, 2019.



2018 - 2019 Quest for Gold - Ontario Athlete Assistance Program

Final List of Ontario Nominations Announced

The Ontario Speed Skating Association is pleased to announce the final list of athletes and alternates who have been nominated for Ontario Cards under the 2018-2019 Quest for Gold - Ontario Athlete Assistance Program (OAAP). The athletes nominated were selected using the sport specific selection criteria developed by The Ontario Speed Skating Association and applied by (the) Selection Committee.

Full Card Nominations - Short Track

 Claudia Heeney, Sylvia Kolodziejczk, Dania El Sammak, Claire Mallard, Ayre Richards, Ethan McKinley-Young, Kitz Richards and Bennett Lai.

Half Card Nominations - Short Track

Emma Grace Wheeler, Eugene Wong, Zakariya Jackson, Chris Langridge and Sebastian Champagne

Half Card – Short Track Alternate William Gibbons

Full Card Nominations - Long Track

Olivia Scott, Taylor White, Sierra Johnson, Matthew Laxton, Max Brant and Gibson Himbeault.

Half Card Nominations – Long Track

Caleb Hovey and Noah Bouma

 *Note: All Half Card nominees are Full Card Alternates

Please note that this list is unofficial and is subject to change pending the outcome of any appeals and/or any re-selection decisions made by the PSO/MSO Selection Committee or the Quest for Gold Appeals Committee.  This list should not be seen as final until posted as such. 

Athletes who have not been nominated and who wish to appeal this decision can do so by following the process set out in the Selection Criteria document

If after following the process set out in the Selection Criteria document an athlete wishes to appeal please complete the Athlete Notice of Appeal Template