Annual General Meeting

Summary of rule changes for ST and LT

Speed Skating Canada has released a brief summary of rule changes for Short and Long Track Speed Skating implemented at the ISU Congress in June 2016.


Competitive season wrap-up

The competitive season for speed skating has come to a close with so many great races by Ontario skaters.

Results from World All Round Speed Skating Championships

Results from World Cup Speed Skating Final

Results from Senior Open #2

Results from Junior Open #2

Results from Special Olympics World Winter Games

Results from Canada Cup #4/ Oval Finale

Results from Canada East Short Track Championships

The Canada East Short Track Championships saw the largest Team Ontario since its inception: 44 athletes raced in Ottawa in an event that was co-hosted by the Gloucester Concordes & Ottawa Pacers. Congratulations to the clubs on hosting a successful and memorable event.

Event photos are posted on OSSA’s Facebook page.


Competition-Development 2017

Applications are now being accepted by Speed Skating Canada for the next round of Competition-Development courses. Deadline is April 14, 2017. 

This program is for coaches training athletes at the level of Canada Winter Games and ISU Junior A, B, C level (& up) (Train to Train, Learn to Compete, Train to Compete).


Physical Literacy Training 

The 2017 International Physical Literacy conference is taking place in Toronto on April 12-15. 

In addition, the Markham Pan Am centre is hosting a “Super Hero Training” workshop on April 12.


$45,000 available to Canadian speed skating clubs!

Clubs have until Friday, March 31, to apply

Ottawa, March 27, 2017 – A total of $45,000, including one grand prize of $10,000 and seven $5,000 grants, are available to Canadian speed skating clubs as part of the 2017 Intact Insurance Podium Tracker Program.

Clubs have until Friday, March 31, to submit their application for $5,000 or $10,000 to help them tackle challenges such as the purchase of equipment, coaching services, recruitment or ice time.

The $45,000 donated by Intact this season represent the 45 individual medals, on a total of 64, won by Canadian skaters at Long Track and Short Track World Cups and World Senior Championships. For each of these individual medals, Intact Insurance is donating $1,000 to the Podium Tracker Program. The list of successful grant recipients will be announced in the spring of 2017. 

Application forms and additional information regarding the Podium Tracker Program are available on Speed Skating Canada’s website at