

2023 Annual Meeting of the Ontario Speed Skating Association

Monday February 26, 2024 8:00 PM EST via Google Meet

DRAFT MINUTES

In Attendance:

Voting members: Talena Kraus -Barrie, Larry Magloire – Brampton, Christine Morrison–Cambridge, Benoit Letourneau–Gloucester, Lisa Cook McGowan-Kawartha, Lisa Croll-Kingston, Matt Kerwin-Kitchener Waterloo, Jeremy Toth-London, Ivana Strgacic – Markham, Todd Vernon-Newmarket, Julie Colbourne-Milne-Ottawa, Colleen Murphy-Quinte, Sandra McLennan – Sault Ste Marie, Natalie Lefort-Sudbury, and Ken George-Toronto.

Board of Directors and Staff- David Butterworth-Chair, Douglas Duncan – Vice Chair, Bernadette Byrne-Treasurer, Anastasia Bucsis, Christina Chenard, Mary Frances Carter-Executive Director, Samantha Morrison - Technical Director and Caleb Caunce – Events and Competition Manager

Guests: Alicia Gillis BDO, Ryan Gibson, Chris Holmstead and Trevor Lewis.

1. Welcome and Opening Comments by the Chair: Mr. David Butterworth

Mr. David Butterworth welcomed everyone to the Ontario Speed Skating Association's online 2023 Annual General Meeting. David introduced the Board of Directors and staff and welcomed Alicia Gillis, CPA, CA from BDO.

2. Establishment of Quorum, and Confirmation of Voting Delegates

A confirmation of the number of voting members present was announced. There were 15 voting members present. In accordance with our By-Laws, ten voting members in good standing, either present in person or by proxy constitutes quorum

3. Appoint Recording Secretary for the Meeting

Motion to approve Mary Frances Carter as the Recording Secretary for the 2023 Annual Meeting made by Benoit Letourneau (Gloucester) and seconded by Ken George (Toronto). Motion carried.

4. Appoint the Scrutineers for the Meeting

Motion to appoint Mary Frances Carter and Caleb Caunce as the scrutineers for the 2023 Annual Meeting made by Julie Colbourne Milne (Ottawa) and Christine Morrison (Cambridge). Motion carried.

5. Approval of the Agenda

Motion to approve the agenda for the 2023 Annual Meeting held on February 26, 2024 for the Ontario Speed Skating Association as presented made by Talena Kraus (Barrie) and seconded by Lisa Croll (Kingston). Motion carried.

6. Approval of the 2022 Annual General Meeting Minutes

Motion to approve the Minutes of the 2022 Annual General Meeting of the Ontario Speed Skating Association held on February 28, 2023 as amended. Motion made by Ken George (Toronto) and seconded by Lisa Cook McGowen (Kawartha). Motion carried.

7. Presentation of the August 31, 2023 Financial Statements

Ms. Alicia Gillis, CPA, CA, BDO Canada presented the August 31, 2023 Financial Statements.

Motion to receive the Financial Statements for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2023 made by Ivana Strgacic (Markham) and seconded by Sandra McLennan (Sault Ste. Marie). Motion carried.

8. Appoint the 2024-2025 Accountants

Motion to appoint BDO Guelph as the accountants for the Ontario Speed Skating Association. Motion made by Lisa Croll (Kingston) and seconded by Julie Colborne Milne (Ottawa). Motion carried.

9. The OSSA Annual Report was shared with the members.

Motion to accept the 2023 Annual Report as presented made by Julie Colbourne Milne (Ottawa) and seconded by Lisa Croll (Kingston). Motion carried.

10. Election of new Directors

Motion to elect by ordinary resolution the following Directors for a two-year term: Douglas Duncan, Trevor Lewis, and Anastasia Bucsis. Motion made by Sandra McLennan (Sault Ste. Marie) and seconded by Natalie Lefort (Sudbury). Motion carried.

Motion to approve Chris Holmstead as the Athlete Representative on the Ontario Speed Skating Association's Board of Directors for a one year term made by Ivana Strgacic (Markham) and seconded by Julie Colbourne Milne (Ottawa).

Closing remarks by David Butterworth (Chair)

The meeting ended.